Guided Tour Of Warwick Saturday 9 September 2017
The walk will start on High Street opposite Lord Leycester’s Hospital. In 1694 a fire started close to here and across the town destroying many of the medieval buildings. As well smouldering furniture, placed for safety in St Mary’s Church, caught light and most of the church was destroyed but fortunately the iconic Beauchamp Chapel (claimed to be the “best medieval chapel in England”) was spared. Our visit will end there where we will see the extravagant tombs of Richard Beauchamp Earl of Warwick, Constable of Rouen, and Robert Dudley, Lord Leycester.
Hopefully there will be no event limiting access to the chapel. Walking should be easy – just a very moderate incline and the only steps will be down into chapel. Town fires were a common event in medieval and early modern England. We will discuss why and look at the eighteenth-century rebuilding of Warwick.
The start of the walk is about ten minutes on foot from Warwick Station on the Chiltern line (Birmingham to London)
Free for members. Non-members £5.00. Cheques payable to “Open University History Society”. If you would like to join us please complete the registration form.